Loading icon
Post banner image
ACEA classification: decoding, marking

ACEA (Eng. European Automobile Manufacturers Association) is an association of European car manufacturers. This abbreviation refers to the community of automakers from Europe.

It includes fifteen firms producing motor oil in large volumes. Nine years ago, the community created a special standard that allows you to divide car oils into subgroups, recalls GOST.

Specification ACEA classifies all oil fluids according to their properties and parameters.

The ACEA oil classification includes three categories:

  • The first includes oils intended for cars, vans, minibuses.
  • The second category includes lubricants that include a catalyst that restores exhaust gases.
  • Oils from the third category are used in highly loaded diesel engines.
  • Content
  • Class 1
  • Class 2
  • Class 3
  • Selection of motor oil

  • Class 1

    Any class included in the ACEA specification contains four groups of oils. Their marking consists of letters and numbers. The 1st class includes lubricants A1/B1, A3/B3, A3/B4, A5/B5.

    These oils can be used for gasoline engines, light diesel engines, minibuses.

    Approval mark on the canister

    A1/B1 have a long service life. Such consumables are low-viscosity and fluid. You can familiarize yourself with their characteristics in detail by looking at the operating manual included with the car.

    A3/B3 are intended for filling into highly accelerated engines. These motor oils can be used all year round. Automakers claim they don't need to be replaced often.

    ACEA A3/B4 are suitable for filling in high-powered internal combustion engines that contain a direct fuel injection system.

    A5/B5 can be used in highly accelerated engines to extend replacement intervals. Such lubricants are quite fluid, which is why they cannot be poured into certain engines.

    You may like: API SN CF Classification Explanation

    Class 2

    For highly accelerated engines, including an exhaust gas recovery catalyst, there is a special category in the ACEA classification of engine oils.

    The oils included in it are used in gasoline/diesel internal combustion engines. Lubricants prolong the service life of soot filters and three-way catalysts.

    C1 contain a minimum amount of sulfur and phosphorus compounds and have a low ash content of sulfates. Low-viscosity oils are designed to reduce fuel costs.

    Might be interesting: Features of gear oil 85w 90

    C2 contain an average amount of sulfur phosphorus compounds. In addition, they have a moderate sulfate ash content.

    ACEA C3 is similar in its characteristics to C2, but more viscous.

    C4 is similar to C1, but more viscous. The content of sulfur, phosphorus elements, ash content of sulfates is minimal.

    It must be remembered that ACEA quality tolerances describe rather specialized lubricants that are intended for use in certain engines.

    However, this does not mean that you need to ignore the recommendations of the automaker. The manufacturer knows best what kind of oil product is required to be poured into his machine.

    Class 3

    Motor oils belonging to this class are marked with the letter E and are poured into highly loaded diesel engines. They cannot be used in gasoline/gas engines. In addition to ensuring lubrication of parts, these consumables clean the piston units.

    Usually they are poured into internal combustion engines certified according to Euro-1/2/3/4/5. Also, these lubricants increase the replacement intervals.

    E4 make it possible to reduce wear on motor parts. The filler elements contained in them can reduce the formation of soot deposits.

    In view of this, motor oils can be used in power units not equipped with a soot filter, but equipped with EGR, SCR. In this case, the lubricant provides a reduction in the concentration of nitrogen oxides in the exhaust gases.

    E6s are similar to E4s but are intended for use in powertrains that include soot filters.

    E7 polishes internal combustion engine parts. They ensure the smoothness of the piston cylinders. Lubricants are poured into engines that are not equipped with soot filters. The presence/absence of ERG/SCR does not matter.

    E8 is used in power units equipped with soot filters. In terms of their characteristics, these oils are close to E7.

    Selection of car oil

    When choosing a fresh consumable for a car, it is necessary, first of all, to take into account the recommendations of the car manufacturer. Before filling the car with a car oil that differs from the recommended one, be sure to consult with an employee of the service center.

    Remember that by pouring the wrong petroleum product into the engine, you give the automaker the right to refuse warranty repairs.

    In order not to make a mistake with the choice, you need to understand how oil markings are deciphered. Being able to decipher the markings is not enough.

    Might be interesting: Properties and scope of oil I-40

    It is necessary to understand what are the characteristics of a particular oil product. It is possible to get acquainted with the parameters of lubricants by looking at special tables.

    The ACEA specification can only be considered as a source of additional information about the type and characteristics of the oil. This standard is designed to make it easier for drivers to choose lubricants.

    For example, if the lubricant recommended by your automaker is not available in stores, you can find another one that is in the same ACEA class.